img_00674

 

“Music and rhythm find their way into the secret places of the soul.”   

                                                                       Plato, The Republic

 

This quote begins my essay, The Body Remebers, that will be published in a collection that is released in April, 2009. The collection, Because I Love Her – 34 Women Writers Reflect on the Mother-Daughter Bond, includes essays by Karen Joy Fowler, Joyce Maynard, and Jacquelyn Mitchard, and is edited by Andrea N. Richesin. 

How do your children’s passions, such as dance, or your own childhood passions, find their way into your fiction, essays, and art?


2 Comments

Filed under Istanbul, Photo

2 responses to “

  1. Joy

    I have never forgotten what it’s like to be a child, to look at things throught the wonderment of a child’s eyes. This was a promise I made to myself when I was about 10 and now in my 50s I can say I’ve kept this promise to myself. This helped me be a better mother than many around me and shows in the relationship I have with my children. As for my writing and art, I draw from my childhood life and that of my children for it all.

  2. Lovely photos on your blog.
    The mother-daughter connection, so important and often so fragile.

    Heidi
    http://heidiwriter.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

